Getting Your License
Congratulations on passing the Drivers Ed Class ... now, you are ALMOST ready to hit the road!
At WorkForce Essentials, we make the next steps easy for you! As a Drivers Ed graduate:
- You will receive a certificate of completion qualifying you for possible insurance discounts.*
- You may take the written and / or road test with us! ** No more waiting in lines for the Tennessee Driver's License or Permit. Talk to your Instructor to find out about testing times.
For more information about State of Tennessee Licensing requirements, please visit the Department of Safety and Homeland Security.
Tennessee’s Graduated Driver License
Tennessee’s Graduated Driver License (GDL) Program is a multi-tiered program designed to ease young beginner drivers into full driving privileges as they develop their skills. The Graduated Driver License law provides for three phases of licensing for teens under 18 years of age:
- Learner Permit
- Intermediate Restricted License
- Intermediate Unrestricted License
The procedures for obtaining a Driver License for those under the age of 18 are covered in Section A-3 of the Tennessee Comprehensive Driver Manual.
For more information about Graduated Licensing, go the Tennessee Graduated Driver License Program website.
*Not all insurance providers offer a discount for Drivers Ed Classes. Please check with your agent for more information.
**Written Test offered at age 15 and Road Test offered at age 16 (or within 60 days of 16th birthday). Pursuant to Tennessee Law.